You are here: Home Programs Leadership Legacy Award

Bill Grace Leadership Legacy Award

Created in 2005 and named in honor of Center founder Bill Grace, this award celebrates Puget Sound leaders whose vision, commitment and unceasing efforts are significantly advancing social, environmental, andLegacy awards economic justice. The Center is particularly interested in bringing attention to those who recognize the importance of collective work and who are often out of the traditional spotlight.

The Bill Grace Leadership Legacy Awards are given out at our Annual Legacy Event.  To nominate someone for next year's award, please download the nomination form, complete it and send it back to Melissa Hamasaki.

The 2014 Legacy Event took place on Thursday, March 27, 2014.

Past Honorees and Keynotes:



  • Tita Begashaw, Laughter Therapist, Community Activist, Bio I Video
  • K. Wyking Garrett, Founding Director, Umoja P.E.A.C.E. Center, Bio I Video
  • Linda Park, Co-Founder, Sustainable Path Foundation, Bio I Video


    2013 winners

  • Darrell Hillaire, Treasurer, Lummi Nation, BioVideo
  • Mary Jean Ryan, Executive Director, the Road Map Project, BioVideo
  • Shauna Yusko, Director and Founder, Pantry Packs, BioVideo


    2012 winners

          • Gregory Davis, President, Rainier Beach Community Empowerment Coalition, BioVideo
          • Erick Haakenson, Owner, Jubilee Farms,
          • Dr. Jody McVittie, Executive Director, Sound Discipline, BioVideo


    2011 winners

  • Paola Maranan - Children’s Alliance
  • Alaric Bien - Chinese Immigrant & Information Services
  • Judy Pigott - Personal Safety Nets


    2010 winners

  • Eric Liu – Guiding Lights
  • Mary Flowers - City of Seattle, Human Services Department
  • The Greater Tacoma Community Foundation



            • Jon Ramer - Interra Project
            • Milenko Matanovic – Pomegranate Center
            • Mark Okazaki - Neighborhood House



  • Anne Stadler - Community Activist
  • Julia Sterkovsky - Seattle Human Services Coalition
  • Asian Pacific Islander Community Leadership Foundation


  • Doreen Marchione - Hopelink
  • Rick Collette - Bellevue Art Museum Board Chair
  • Bookda Gheisar - Social Justice Fund Northwest


  • Bill Grace - Founder, Center for Ethical Leadership
  • 2014 Legacy Event Videos

    Richard Woo - Keynote from Center for Ethical Leadership 2014 Legacy Event.

    Tita Begashaw from Center for Ethical Leadership 2014 Legacy Award recipient.

    K. Wyking Garrett from Center for Ethical Leadership 2014 Legacy Award recipient.

    Linda Park from Center for Ethical Leadership 2014 Legacy Award recipient.